Digital archiving

 

archivsuisse offers a secure, comprehensive, and cost-effective solution for the electronic long-term archiving of digital data (various data formats and e-mails). Digital information is not only stored, but also archived in an audit-compliant manner while ensuring its integrity and authenticity is maintained.

In accordance with the ISO standard 14721 for “Open Archival Information Systems” (OAIS), our own archive software that we developed in-house ensures the professional management of your digital archive material.

archivsuisse

  • determines together with you what data should be archived
  • takes over the data that is to be archived in an organized manner (so-called “ingest” procedure), structures it using the archivsuisse software for long-term archiving, converts it into data formats that are suitable for archiving, and embeds meta data
  • stores and backs up the data (archival storage) in collaboration with our IT partner, netrics
  • enables you to access the data 24 hours a day/365 days a year: Using our secure customer portal with a password-protected user account, you can access and download your data at any time.

Offline archiving on film

archîvsuisse has been a partner of the Norwegian company PIQL AS since 2019. With this partnership, archivsuisse is expanding its portfolio in the area of digital long-term archiving. The principle of “data on film” from PIQL AS offers an innovative, established and cost-effective solution for the digital long-term archiving of information.

When storing data on film, digital data is transferred to a coated polyester film (piqlFilm) by converting it into optical QR codes as a physical image – supplemented with the archival-relevant additional information (metadata) – which ensures OAIS-compliant archiving.

Advantages of data storage on film

  • With piqlFilm as the storage medium and the use of established digital long-term archive formats, media and format migrations become obsolete. The result: lower archiving costs and a minimized risk of data loss compared to conventional digital archiving solutions.
  • Content written on film is unchangeable. The authenticity and integrity of the data thus guaranteed form the basis for legally compliant archiving.
  • Data archived on piqlFilm as an “offline medium” cannot be “hacked” and requires only minimal energy over its lifetime (electricity-independent and environmentally friendly digital archiving). Moreover, piqlFilm uses an extremely durable material in combination with a patented writing process (tested minimum shelf life of piqlFilm: 500 years).
  • A non-proprietary solution for long-term digital archiving. The data stored in the form of optical QR codes on the piqlFilm can – in addition to being read back using the piqlReader – also be technically decoded autonomously. For the data readout, all coding and technology-relevant information on the film is available in human-readable form and open source.
  • In combination with an online database (archîvsuisse customer portal), metadata of the piqlFilm can be made accessible for online research.

Digital archivieren

archivsuisse bietet eine sichere, umfassende und kostengünstige Lösung für die elektronische Langzeitarchivierung digitaler Daten (diverse Dateiformate und E-Mails). Digitale Informationen werden nicht nur gespeichert, sondern unter Wahrung ihrer Integrität und Authentizität revisionssicher archiviert.

Dem ISO-Standard 14721 «Open Archival Information System» (OAIS) entsprechend, gewährleistet unsere eigens entwickelte Archiv-Software die professionelle Betreuung Ihres digitalen Archivguts.

archivsuisse

  • bestimmt mit Ihnen die Daten, die archiviert werden sollen
  • übernimmt die zu archivierenden Daten geordnet (sog. Ingest), strukturiert sie mittels der archivsuisse-Software für die Langzeitarchivierung, konvertiert sie in archivfähige Dateiformate und versieht sie mit Metadaten
  • speichert und sichert die Daten (sog. Archival Storage) in Zusammenarbeit mit dem IT-Partner netrics
  • ermöglicht Ihnen 24 Stunden/365 Tage den Zugriff auf die Daten (sog. Access): Über unser gesichertes Kundenportal mit passwortgeschütztem Benutzerkonto können Sie jederzeit auf Ihre Daten zugreifen und diese herunterladen.

Offline-Archivierung auf Film

archîvsuisse ist seit 2019 Partner der norwegischen Firma PIQL AS. Mit dieser Partnerschaft erweitert archivsuisse sein Portfolio im Bereich der digitalen Langzeitarchivierung. Das Prinzip «Daten auf Film» von PIQL AS bietet eine innovative, etablierte und kostengünstige Lösung für die digitale Langzeitarchivierung von Information.

Bei der Datenspeicherung auf Film werden digitale Daten durch die Umwandlung in optische QR-Codes als physisches Bild – ergänzt mit den archivrelevanten Zusatzinformationen (Metadaten) – auf einen beschichteten Polyester-Film (piqlFilm) transferiert, wodurch eine OAIS-konforme Archivierung gewährleistet werden kann.

Vorteile der Datenspeicherung auf Film

  • Mit dem piqlFilm als Speichermedium und der Anwendung von etablierten digitalen Langzeitarchivformaten werden Mediums- und Formatmigrationen hinfällig. Resultat: tiefere Archivierungskosten und Datenverlustrisiken gegenüber herkömmlichen digitalen Archivlösungen.
  • Auf Film geschriebene Inhalte sind unveränderbar. Die dadurch gewährleistete Authentizität und Integrität der Daten bilden die Grundlage für eine rechtssichere Archivierung.
  • Auf piqlFilm als «Offline-Medium» archivierte Daten können nicht «gehackt» werden und benötigen über die Lebensdauer nur minimalst Energie (stromunabhängige und umweltschonende digitale Archivierung). Überdies wird beim piqlFilm ein äusserst beständiges Material in Kombination mit einem patentierten Schreibverfahren eingesetzt (getestete Mindesthaltbarkeit des piqlFilms: 500 Jahre).
  • Eine nicht-proprietäre Lösung für die digitale Langzeitarchivierung. Die in Form von optischen QR-Codes auf dem piqlFilm gespeicherten Daten können – nebst der Rücklesung mittels piqlReader – technisch auch autonom dekodiert werden. Für die Datenauslesung sind alle kodierungs- und technologierelevanten Angaben auf dem Film in menschenlesbarer Form und Open-Source verfügbar.
  • In Kombination mit einer Online Datenbank (archîvsuisse-Kundenportal) können Metadaten des piqlFilms für Online Recherchen zugänglich gemacht werden.